Pet Peeves: We All Have Them

September 30, 2009 at 5:53 pm 1 comment

Face it. We all have little pet peeves we harbor. We pull them out whenever we feel frustrated or overwhelmed. In some cases, pet peeves have been known to escalate into violence between perfect strangers, neighbors and friends. Often we see it as being treated disrespectfully or rudely. What’s one of your pet peeves?

The pet peeve that comes to mind for me is someone not using their turn signal while driving. Law in all 50 states requires it. All automobiles are required to have them and in functioning condition, yet every time I venture out into traffic I will see someone not using them properly or not at all.

How much gas would be saved in this country if we simply would just use our signals when we intended to turn? I have waited and waited for someone coming in my lane expecting them to pass so I can turn and enter traffic only to have them turn into the street I was on. Had they just signaled their intent I would have turned and been on my way, instead I wasted a few seconds of gas. Now multiply that by the countless times this occurs throughout our great land each and every day and it amounts to thousands of gallons of imported oil being wasted…

So much for my pet peeve rant. I feel better now.

How do you deal with a pet peeve? Do you have a co-worker, client or spouse who pushes your hot button over some pet peeve you have against them? Do you just push it down and let it fester? Do you use sarcasm and make a smart remark? Do you just let it slide and not let it bother you? If it doesn’t bother you, it’s not a pet peeve.

Pet peeves make us feel superior to others. After all I use my turn signal all the time. Well, more accurately I do it most of the time. I have caught myself changing lanes or making a move without signaling. I am human you know. See what I did? I justified my actions and maintained my superiority by not letting everyone else be human.

Harboring a pet peeve can be destructive. It can drive a wedge into a relationship. It doesn’t matter whether it’s a client relationship or some relative, it will fester and grow until it erupts into an expression of bad feelings that will hurt and maybe kill the relationship. So how do you handle it?

Look at yourself first. We all do annoying things. We all get on each other’s nerves. We are all human. So look first at yourself and your shortcomings and then consciously realize that we are all in the same boat. We all have faults.

Interact with others on your terms. If you have someone particularly annoying in your life make sure that your interactions with him or her are on your terms. Don’t let yourself get blind sided by their behavior. Make their behavior their problem not yours. If your situation requires you to be around them only interact with them when you are rested, alert, and not distracted so you can consciously make the right choices in dealing with them. Remember being polite is the key.

Get to know the person that’s annoying you. Sometimes if you can understand where a person is coming from you can tolerate them and their behavior easier. Many of us have backgrounds that handicap us socially. Doesn’t mean we aren’t sincere, caring human beings. It just means we make social mistakes. Getting to know a person’s history goes a long way to understanding them.

Diffuse difficult situations with humor. Sometimes just seeing the humor in a pet peeve can help you handle it. I’ve gotten to where I just comment on how sad it is that the fancy luxury car in front of me didn’t come equipped with turn signals. Then I chuckle and go on to something else. Try it the next time something gets under your skin.

Life’s too short to waste time nurturing a pet peeve. It’s all right to not like certain behavior and if need be to remove yourself if you can. All to often though we have to get along together for our common good. We as vendors must get along with customers. Co-workers must work together to be productive and get along with the boss. You get the picture. Don’t let a pet peeve eat your lunch. It’s just not worth it.

I’m looking to partner with visionary small business owners who need help telling their story to the world. My contact info is:

Michael Irvin
Creative Project Manager
913.677.7060 cell: 913.530.7030
mirvin1129@yahoo.com

Find me on

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/michaelirvincpm

Plaxo: http://tinyurl.com/nps8o2

Twittter: http://twitter.com/mirvin1129

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mirvin1129

Business Profile: http://www.kconlinecommunity.com/profile/MichaelIrvin

Graphic Design and Illustration Portfolio: http://www.elance.com/experts/mirvin1129

Fine Art Portfolio: http://www.taltopia.com/mirvin1129

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When it Comes to Advertising the Subconscious Mind Can be Your Friend or Enemy Cleaning Out the Old to Make Way for the New

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tim Whitmore  |  September 30, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Left lane(passing lane) drivers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Think Out Loud Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 6,150 hits

