It’s That Time Again, Time To Be Thankful

November 21, 2012 at 8:17 am Leave a comment

Well we’ve made it through another year and the old world is still there. It’s been a tough year for a lot of people, especially in this country. My heart goes out especially to the people of the Northeast that have been impacted by the huge hurricane named Sandy. Think of not having a home to go to on Thanksgiving.

But I’m not just thinking of them. I’m thinking about all the poor in this country, who for years may not have had enough on Thanksgiving or for that matter throughout the year. In this country of abundance there should not be any poverty but that is a rant for another time.

My heart goes out to anyone who lost a friend or relative to cancer or some other disease such as bi-polar. Both of these diseases have hit close to home this year for me. My wife has ovarian cancer and is halfway through chemo. My oldest son ended his struggle with bi-polar disease, which he left untreated. I now know first hand what its like to experience what so many do each and every year.

So with so much bad going on in this world like the unrest in the Middle East right now, how can we be thankful? And for what? The cynic in me just wants to throw up my hands and give up. There doesn’t seem to be a light at the end of the tunnel. Maybe there never will be.

Yet, I can’t allow myself to go there. Surely if I look hard enough I can find something to be thankful for this time that doesn’t involve overeating. Let’s see. Okay, I think I have a couple to share bear with me.

The election is finally over
I love this country dearly but I’m so done with the elections. We’ve come to a place in our democracy that at times worries me. I’m so thankful to live in a country that has free election but I have to say I’m saddened by what it’s become. So I’m trying to see the good in all of this. I’m thankful to live in a great country that allows me freedoms. One of them I’m thankful for is the freedom to be done with the elections.

Disease and discomfort
I know it may seem strange to be thankful for disease and discomfort. I’ve always dreamed of a world completely free of it. Most medical research is based on eliminating it completely and for that I am truly thankful. Yet, without it would we as humans be motivated to conquer it? Without adversity we cannot know the jubilation of success or the joy of conquering and prevailing over the tough things in life. So you see being thankful for disease and discomfort isn’t so crazy. I also pray that I will have what it takes to see it through.

Even though I’m going through cancer with my wife and the loss of a son, I’m not thankful per say for the events. In fact I wish they had never happened. However, I have to be thankful for them for this reason: I will be stronger because of it, my family will be closer because of it, and my world will be a little more precious to me because of it. I will be forever changed for the better and for that I am thankful.

One last thing
Now it’s time to really bore down to the most important thing to be thankful for. Family and friends. During these trials I have recently been subjected to I have once again been reminded how wonderful a group of family and friends I have. They have come running to our aid the moment we expressed our pain. They have held our arms up high as we anguished with the first moments of realization of our hurt. They have cooked meals and brought over, they have sat and listened over and over again as we have processed our pain, our sorrow and our fears. Without this unbroken circle we would not make it through. That is why I am especially thankful for all who have touched us. Those who were strangers to us are now friends as they have willingly shared in our experience.

So as you can see there is so much to be thankful for on this Thanksgiving Day holiday. It doesn’t take a brain surgeon to find something. I will leave you with this one wish: May we all continue to be thankful throughout the coming year and love one another.

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

To My Son, After His Passing Some Pre-Christmas Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Think Out Loud Calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 6,150 hits

