Some Pre-Christmas Thoughts

December 14, 2012 at 8:55 am Leave a comment

One of the things about growing older is the awaking feelings of being mortal. Don’t get me wrong I’ve observed life, death and near death over the years in many ways. I’ve lost loved ones very close to me and experienced a son having a tragic accident. Yet as a young man I didn’t take much notice.

When you are young you are bullet proof in many ways, in your own mind. Then as you get older you realize that your time is getting shorter. At 20, 80 seems so far away. Then you suddenly hit sixty and things start getting serious. Way in the back of your mind nags the question, “how long to I really have”.

Add to this some recent loss, a wife with cancer, and friends going through losses of their own and you suddenly find yourself thinking more about “the end” rather than “the now”. It’s a natural part of life and to overcome it you have to actively think and be in the present. It takes work believe me but you have to do it or you will miss all the wonderful things happening in the “now”.

I’m now officially in my 60’s. Though I hope to have a couple of decades to go, life can turn on a dime as I know from experience. My task now is to comfort my wife and be there for her every moment as she fights, no, conquers cancer. To spend as much time as I can with my family and friends and to be as productive as I can be right now. Life, on the whole, has been good to me and I owe it my best. Here’s to a great 2013 for everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s That Time Again, Time To Be Thankful Tragedy Can Be Avoided if We Just Think

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Think Out Loud Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 6,150 hits

